Leptons and quarks are the basic building blocks of matter, i.e., they are seen as the "elementary particles". There are six leptons in the present structure, the electron, muon, and tau particles and their associated neutrinos. The different varieties of the elementary particles are commonly called "flavors", and the neutrinos here are considered to have distinctly different flavor.

Definition Provided by Hyperphysics 

Leptons and Baryons


Not made of quarks

Doesn't have colors 

Only effected by EM interactions

Has only six flavors

Leptons production happens in pairs, where the lepton and it's neutrino are produced in an interaction.


Made of quarks 

Has 3 colors and 3 anti-colors 

Effected by all interactions 

Has 9 flavors 

Both leptons and Baryons have anti-particles so that the total number of flavors for each type are doubled.